Lentil As Anything

Pay-as-you-feel is the creative lingo that Lentils As Anything in Newtown offers. Enjoy a fresh meal made from rescued fruit and veg to support not only the farmers, but the homeless if you wish!

Lentil As Anything - photo 1

The fundalentils of Lentils As Anything is that it’s a not for profit organisation that relies solely on the generosity of their patrons, partners and volunteers. They believe in the power of humanity to create stupendous changes.

Lentil As Anything - photo 8
When this restaurant first appeared in Sydney, I was sooooo keen in going! If you know me well, I’m all for social responsibility. In fact, I went through a stage where I wanted to have my own restaurant with a similar concept so that’s why I was keen beans to try it out! So how was it?

Lentil As Anything - photo 3

Suh-guuuud! I love how there are seats outdoors and inside and the best thing it’s that you could be seated with anyone-yep! The whole idea of this place is that you meet with other people in your community. Funnily enough, we bumped into a friend of ours from uni and was seated with them- shows oh popular this place is!

Lentil As Anything - photo 14

The first things I notice when we pop in the restaurant is it’s simplicity and craftiness. The paintings, the little jars on the table… there’s an authentic and welcoming feel.

Lentil As Anything - photo 7

You wouldn’t think at it is a place where people from all walks of life can drop by. Everyone is served equally and treated the same no matter what.

Lentil As Anything - photo 9

When we got seated, we were handed some delicious spiced chai! Because it came in small glasses, it almost reminded me of India! (Except Indian chai is super sweet).

Lentil As Anything - photo 6

The best aspect with Lentils As Anything is that they don’t have a menu. Everything is made from season so dishes change on a daily basis. The waitress read out the four choices and they sounded delicious!

Lentil As Anything - photo 2

I am quite indecisive at times so I like a good and small menu. What I love about the food is that it’s all vegan- #winning – I can take any of my friends here (maybe except if they have certain allergies).

Lentil As Anything - photo 10

First came the Chandwas Curry Platter. It consisted of spicy eggplant, cabbage dahl, creamy carrot and rice. The portion was huge and a stunner to the eye. Mix it up and you have a perfectly spiced meal.

Lentil As Anything - photo 12

My Malaysian peanut and broccoli soup with salad and fry bread was equally as excellent! Although the consistency of the soup was quite thick, the flavours were a hit. Now I’m starting to think that I should’ve opened up a cafe…

Lentil As Anything - photo 11

For dessert, the Bolivian spiced cake with caramel sauce was very heavy. I don’t think I’ve had spiced cake in Bolivia? Not that I recall. I remember having delicious fruit smoothies and beer for breakfast for an amazing cheap price though? #throwbacks
Anyways, it was fantastic that they offered a two course meal! Wished there was another option but definitely very filling!

Lentil As Anything - photo 13

As you walk out of the door, there’s a wooden box where you slot in as much as you want. The recommended price is $12 which will cover the meal and other costs but please please put more in as it is a great cause 🙂

Lentil As Anything - photo 4

Rating Review: (1-5, with 5 being exceptional)

Event (Lentil As Anything): 4.5/5

Ambience: 4/5

Service: 4/5

Value: 4.75/5

Would I recommend going to Lentils As Anything? YES!!! It’s not a fancy dining place, nor a place to go out on a date but a warm and friendly place to meet your neighbours, have a delicious meal made from food that would’ve otherwise been wasted, and potential great conversations.

Highlight: the food! I cannot express how impressed I am with the quality and quantity. The cuisine spans internationally and it’s all vegan. The flavours certainly pack a punch and I’m keen to try it all!

Suggestion of improvement: I’m quite aware that I knew how this place works, what they do, how they operate, etc. but I’m not sure if I would’ve known if I accidentally stumbled across it. There was a sign explaining the fundalentils and I think it would br even better if there was a little book explaining where he food comes from, where the proceeds go to etc. I guess this place really attracts those who are ‘active finders’ but who knows!

Ends: never, open daily 12-3pm, 6-9pm

Link: http://lentilasanything.com/sydney/

Official hashtag: #StayLentil

Angela Bee

Leave a Reply

