Parlour Games – Smart Arts Youth Festival

Parlour Games was a free drawing workshop run by visual artists, Natalie and Leigh of Intersect Arts through Smart Arts Festival on Tuesday April 8, 2014.

Parlour Games Smart Arts - photo 2

Sydney’s biggest collaborative drawing games night, this event was open to young artists aged between 15-26 who love to draw.

Parlour Games Smart Arts - photo 13

Don’t get my wrong.. I’m not the best artist and I pride myself in drawing spirals and triangles but this sounded like a lot of fun. I wished I got the artistic genes from my artist grandfather, but everyone can’t have everything right?

The MCA was especially open for this event. Don’t forget to read my review about the Biennale here.

Every time I’m at Circular Quay I find it very acceptable to take a tourist shot in your own city.

Parlour Games Smart Arts - photo 1

Going up the lifts, we ended up in a spacious room for about the 20 of us.The sensory room is absolutely amazing. The colourfulness, use of multiple materials and ways of putting it all together was very creative. If only my bedroom looked like this.

Parlour Games Smart Arts - photo 5

Even the view outside was fabulous. If this space was up for grabs for New Years, I wouldn’t be surprised at home much money it would go for.

Parlour Games Smart Arts - photo 6

Of course there was the Pine Street food of delicious dips, crackers, cheese, chips and cake!

Parlour Games Smart Arts - photo 4

There was actually a wide variety of people from all ages. The younger kids looked like they were super talented. First up was the Exquisite Corpse, a surrealist drawing game. We had to fold our paper into four and then draw different parts of the body without looking at the previous drawings. I think most of us played this when we were kids.

Parlour Games Smart Arts - photo 7

This was my final drawing. So there’s the head, then shoulders, then body, then legs. I loved how this one turned out.

Parlour Games Smart Arts - photo 8

We got to pin our artist drawings up on the wall so everyone could see. They were hilarious! Some of these should be framed and sold at next years exhibition!

Parlour Games Smart Arts - photo 9

We had some time out to chat with others and to be honest, there wasn’t many people my age. More people should come to these fun activities!!

Parlour Games Smart Arts - photo 3

Next, we played Beijing Doodle, Chinese Whispers with drawings. I have never played this game before but basically everyone gets the number of paper with the number of people at the table. We had 9, so 9 pieces of paper per person. Then, everyone spent 10 minutes drawing something bizarre or unique. Using my lame drawing skills I drew a bottle with a letter inside. Afterwards, you showed this picture to the person to the right whilst looking at the one on your left for 5 seconds. After that, you had to recreate the drawing.

Yup, it took a long time with all of us but it was definitely worth while. Towards the end people were losing a bit of interest and then people got creative. I added bits and pieces to each of the drawings. Some of them were so complicated!

Parlour Games Smart Arts - photo 10

In the end everything was revealed! We put down each piece of artwork one by one. We had a hill turn into a cupcake, a crazy Craig drawing turn into a cute cat, a tree turn into an octopus, not to mention the carrot theme we had somehow come up with.

Parlour Games Smart Arts - photo 11

Then we just chatted amongst each other and then I went home. Apparently these fun games run every Wednesday! So keen!

Parlour Games Smart Arts - photo 12

Review Rating: =D  =)  =|  =(

Product (Parlour Games Smart Arts Youth Festival): =D

Ambience: =)

Service: =)

Value: =)

Would I go to another Smart Arts Workshop? Yes and this is already my second one so it shows I want to go to more. Even if you’re not artist, then it’s great to get some creative vibes from these people. There were lots of young talent and I went in saying that I can only draw spirals and triangles #artistlyf

Would I donate the money saved to the organisers? Definitely $5 if I had a full time job. It’s great these workshops are free for kids because obviously student don’t have money to afford attending events like this. There were some parents who came with their children which was quite cute.

Highlight: revealing the results of the artwork we did with the games. It was genius! Loved it when we were all putting down our drawings and you could see how each picture evolved. Also gives a taste of what people are interested in.

Suggestion of impovement: with the games, it would’ve been nicer to have a timer. Particularly with the first game, as mentioned before, I draw spirals and triangles so I did a baby head with a few spikes of hair and finished it in 2 seconds whilst a lot of people took a bit longer and put heaps of detail. Just having a time frame for each of the games could’ve seemed more organised. Maybe also an ice breaker to get to know other people in the group.

Ends: April 12, 2014

Link: https://www.facebook.com/events/1559452357613273/

Angela Bee

Leave a Reply

