QVB CNY Lion Dances

Join the parade from January 15 to February 5 at the QVB for dancing lions that climb up escalators to the beat of vibrant drummers.

QVB Lion Dance - photo 3

“A meeting point for culture and style, iconic shopping destination QVB is marking the year of the horse by hosting a hub of celebration for Chinese New Year 2014.

QVB Lion Dance - photo 4

As you do, I was just window shopping at expensive shops at the QVB when I heard loud strumming music accompanied by flashes of red going from one side to the other.”

QVB Lion Dance - photo 1

From above, red and gold coloured lanterns bring thoughts of ‘blessing.’

QVB Lion Dance - photo 2

I make my way down to the ground floor and follow the celebration of wild dancing and banging music.

QVB Lion Dance - photo 11

Girls dressed in traditional Chinese clothes hand out fortune cookies.

QVB Lion Dance - photo 5

I want mine to come true!! Praying!

QVB Lion Dance - photo 7

QVB Lion Dance - photo 9

I really liked how the crowd all came together. It was literally a paparazzi!

Remember lions do have a somewhat dangerous nature.

QVB Lion Dance - photo 10

Look out for the $28 banquet special from Fat Buddha and gift set from T2.

QVB Lion Dance - photo 8

It was pretty awesome as the lions went up the escalators and pretty much went weaving through every level. Not a shop assistant will miss out on the celebrations.

QVB Lion Dance - photo 6

Review Rating: =D  =)  =|  =(

Product (QVB lion dancing): =D

Ambience: =D

Service: =)

Value: =)

Would I go to the QVB Chinese New Year celebrations every year? If I’m passing by, why not. There are many other opportunities to see lion dances. If it’s your first time, why not.

Would I pay to watch loom dances? Not really. I mean, as mentioned before a lot lf other shopping centres do it. Chinatown, Chatswood…

Highlight: receiving that fortune cookie. If you know me personally, I’ve been looking for a full time job for more almost 9 months and things aren’t shaping up nicely even with my resume…

Suggestion of improvement: you know what they should’ve done? It’s tradition to enter every single shop and to dance around and offer them red pockets. I think I’ve only seen it done in Chatswood and asked my parents about it. It’s entertaining and gets all the shops involved!

Ends: February 5, 2014

Link: https://www.qvb.com.au/chinese-new-year14

Angela Bee

Leave a Reply

